Sleep well, dear friend.

Today has been one of those dreary days where my mind wanders a lot and my heart doesn’t know what to do. I woke up in the middle of the night for a few hours last night, which is nothing knew these last few months, I haven’t slept well at all. Some nights I have bad dreams and wake up screaming or crying. Other times I just wake up and toss and turn for hours. It’s been going on for months now. I’m not sure when it started, but I hope it ends soon.

My sister had text me not long after I fell asleep asking if I knew someone, and I told her I did, figuring she had met him or something. Before she replied, Facebook told me what had happened. He was killed by an IED a few days ago. It has hit so close to home. Someone I had classes with, passed in the hall, watched at football games. Someone I knew. When you come from a small town like mine, you grow up with these people who you see so often, they become like family, and no matter how close or far apart everyone ends up, it stays that way. So many people are feeling his loss.

Leave a Reply

