In her skin…

I cannot explain how comfortable I am in my own skin again.

I am within 10-15 pounds of my pre-accident weight, and while I haven’t been to the gym to tone up since I’ve dropped some weight, I still feel amazing.

Yes, I’d like it if my tummy, thighs and arms jiggled a bit less, but they will in time. As for right now, I’m fitting into jeans I haven’t worn in two years. And not like, squeezing uncomfortably into them, but having wiggle room. HOW FRICKING AMAZING!

I can’t wait to tone up, but since I’m going to be out of town for ten out of the next twelve weeks, I figure it’s best to wait until I’m back in the states to begin a strength-training regimen. So for now I’ll just stick to long walks with friends.

I am so comfortable and oh-so-happy. Yes, I have more weight to lose, and I will. Eventually. I’m learning new habits, trying new things, cooking new recipes, and realizing that this new me is the person I really want to be for a long time.

I don’t know when it happened.

I don’t know when I stopped being sad and achy and became this happy-go-lucky girl that I knew quite some moons ago, but I cannot express how amazing it feels to finally see her again. To be the girl who goes out of her way for others. The who doesn’t fight with her mom or use ignorant, cut throat words with her sister anymore. The one who put herself and her wants before anyone else’s needs.

I am so happy to see that cold, heartless self fade away and see the smiling, singing girl that I used to be, standing there with just a few scars to remind her of every single thing that the past two years have brought and how she overcame them to be even better than she was before.

I don’t know where my life is going after Europe. I don’t have a job planned or a place of my own, but I have my family, my friends and myself again. I suddenly know that I am limitless.

 

 

May 2012

Late May 2012

December 2012

November 30, 2012

December 2012

December 1, 2012

Leave a Reply

